Home is where Taco John’s is.

25 Oct

.

Only a few more short weeks until I can travel back to the Dirty Bluffs of Iowa and be reunited with the homies and skanks I grew up with. One of the first things I will be doing upon my arrival back in the Midwest is getting Taco John’s. Apparently they don’t believe in Taco John’s in the eastern hemisphere of the country. They don’t believe in a lot of things in this area of the country though. Politeness, courtesy, selling alcohol, using the left lane on the highway, gas pumps that stick so you don’t have to hold them with your hand the entire time you fill up, efficient road systems, Bank of America, pet friendly apartments, kindness, fun. The list goes on. There is really nothing here to miss when I leave. Except Sheetz. Sheetz is the one savior this dismal place has to offer.

.

.

It’s like QuikTrip, but better. They have DELICIOUS french fries, fantastic milkshakes and other beverages, nachos, sandwiches galore, free air, perks, hilarious slogans, the cleanest bathrooms you’ve ever seen, AND it’s open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Sigh. This I will miss, and this alone.

Tonight’s going to be a great night. It’s Taco Tuesday, and the X Factor is on. That is unless baseball decides to so rudely stick its ugly head into my television schedule YET again, in which case I will be writing a very harshly worded letter to the MLB, mark my word.

I wish Facebook chat had away messages like AIM did back in the day. AOL had it all figured out. “Stepped out to lunch.”   “On the phone.”  “Be right back.”  They even let you make your own. “Dog just puked on the carpet – be back in 5.”  “Sprinting after the mailman.”   “I ate Peking Garden for lunch, now I’m exploding in the bathroom.”  I don’t like to have to log off of Facebook just because I need to go stir my pasta and I’m afraid someone might chat me up and I won’t be there to answer politely. Can’t I just leave an away message? This is such a simple addition to the already complex chat system they’ve created. What’s one more detail?

.

.

It’s the time of year again where my hands are permanent frozen blocks of ice until the weather consistently reaches temperatures above 72 degrees. Shaking hands is super awkward. The person reaches in for a warm firm shake and is met with a deathly cold ice hand. They always jolt back, wide-eyed as if they just reached out and got an electric shock. It’s unavoidable. Someone get me battery operated heater-mittens, would you?

WELL, time to go.

_________________________________________________________________

“What’s ‘Ron’s weed room?'”

“It’s a big room full of weed, and it’s Ron’s.”

4 Responses to “Home is where Taco John’s is.”

  1. Chris October 26, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

    So is my blueberry french toast second on your to-do list?

    • beccasheppard October 26, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

      You know it. Fire up a batch of that impossibly delicious breakfast feast, Toms.

  2. Jessica Roxburgh December 4, 2011 at 3:01 am #

    oh, taco johns is sooo freakin good. didnt you girls work there when you were in high school? like at the mall right?!

    • beccasheppard December 4, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

      Yeaaaap. Me, McDermott, and Kehly. Those were the days. Hated that job, loved everyone there. I can’t wait to stuff my face with a taco bravo. YEE!!

Leave a Reply

