Fryday, Fryday, gonna get down on Fryday.

6 Jul

One of my friends took a picture of this poster ad on their cell phone in Philadelphia. A picture is worth a thousand words.

Yes, Jermaine. It is you “they” are looking for. “They” being the state police, of course. Creep.

Kidding. It’s Lionel Richie. Still.

As you may or may not know, I am a roof salesman. Therefore, I deal with several crews of roofers on the daily who build the jobs I sell. One of our newest crews is a bunch of guys from Kyrgyzstan which is in Central Asia. One of the main religions in Kyrgyzstan is Islam, so most of these guys are Muslim.

This particular crew of men has been working on the roof of the house that I currently rent and live in for the last couple of days, and I have noticed that when I take my dog outside and he goes near them, most of them avoid coming near him and act like he’s carrying the plague. They won’t pet him or play with him or give him any attention of any kind. I Googled “Muslims and dogs” out of curiosity. This is what I found.

Muhammad made strange and harsh statements about dogs and these edicts affect dogs in a tragic way. Muslims render dogs as unclean, “impure” and worse. Per Muhammad’s orders most dogs were to be killed and all dogs of a specific color (black) had to be killed. Then Allah’s apostle forbade their killing. He said: “It is your duty to kill the jet-black (dog) having two spots (on the eyes) for it is a devil.”

This is my dog:

.Raleigh = Satan.

You learn something new every day.

I watched Clash of the Titans last night. Imagine waking up with one of those gourd creatures in your bed after a night at the bars.

Vom.

I watched one single episode of Freaky Eaters on TLC, and I think that was enough. The particular episode I viewed was of Eric Willmann, “The Fry Guy.” Eric eats virtually nothing but french fries. He remains a normal weight. This is my dream come true. Sure, he’s got heart disease and cholesterol higher than teenagers at a Bob Marley concert, but if I could count how many times I’ve said, “I wish it were feasible for me to eat nothing but McDonald’s french fries for the rest of my life without morphing into Kirstie Alley,” I’d be driving a Rolls Royce.

Anyway, the point is, the show is unbelievably dramatic, the hosts are terrible, and Eric doesn’t understand the definition of “active.” He said, and I quote, “I’m very active. I skateboard at LEAST once a week, if not twice.”

Okay, Eric. I’m VERY charitable. I’ve added a $1 donation to my PetSmart purchase at LEAST once, if not twice. Let’s not get carried away.

For those of who have been on edge, biting your nails, wondering how my hair fiasco is progressing, let me just say this: I just took a shower and shampooed the shit out of my hair not once, but twice, using at least a metric ton of Garnier Fructis, and even after the second rinse of shampoo AND rinsing out the conditioner that followed, the tub was filled with bright pink sudsy bubbles. It looked like someone sprayed the Pink Panther with a hose.

.

So, that’s what’s going on with my noggin. Thanks for stopping by.

_______________________________________________________________________

“I want you to trim the fat.”

“What?”

“I want you to fire all the fat people.”

6 Responses to “Fryday, Fryday, gonna get down on Fryday.”

  1. Molly July 6, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    I would expect nothing less than for you to own a satanic beast. And I mean that in the nicest way. Also, he’s the cutest little demon I’ve ever seen.

  2. mr. c July 6, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    your pink hair is spawning the semen of devil dogs. or something like that.

  3. Ann December 15, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    Hi. I, for the first time, read what you wrote about “The Fry Guy”. I nearly peed because you are pretty hilarious. It’s funny to watch the show and hear all the random stuff they added making it all fit together like a perfect puzzle. The truth is, Eric is very active. He is always skateboarding, but teaches once a week, during the winter he is a snowboard instructor three days a week and also goes other days just to board for pleasure ;). If he is not working at his full time job he is at home building something, like…a ramp to use in the water when he goes wake-boarding every single day during the summer or his Old Man Skateboard league 😉 is out skating in the evening at a skate park they got together and built for themselves. But, the show doesn’t like to add every little detail, they wouldn’t want people to think a person is capable of doing so much on a french fry diet. Maybe because I love the guy, and even though what you said was funny and I will continue to read your very funny posts, as his wife, I felt the need to clear that up. Good day. 🙂

    • beccasheppard December 15, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

      Haha! Excellent. It would be so weird and annoying to be chopped and edited to twist someones words on a show like that. I envy your husband for being able to survive on fries. I wish I could do it without turn into a manatee. Thanks for reading!

  4. ali butt March 30, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

    http://wikiislam.net/wiki/Qur'an,_Hadith_and_Scholars:Animals

    … some interesting reading , I think !

    best regards

    ali

    • beccasheppard March 31, 2012 at 9:52 am #

      Interesting! I did not know the part about angels “not entering a home” because of the presence of a dog. How strange! Thanks for the link.

Leave a Reply

